Hello, we apologize but forum registrations are non-functional at this time. This issue should be fixed around mid-December. Until then, please stop by our Discord channel if you'd like to get in touch with the team. Thanks!

Audio engine fails to initialise [SOLVED]

For those having trouble installing/running the game or to report a bug

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
Ragwortshire
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:17 am

Audio engine fails to initialise [SOLVED]

Post by Ragwortshire » Tue Dec 11, 2007 5:18 am

When attempting to start version 0.2.1 I get an error that the audio engine failed to initialise. stderr.txt reads

ERROR:.\src\engine\audio\audio.cpp:hoa_audio::GameAudio::SingletonInitialize:113: failed to open an OpenAL audio device: ALC_INVALID_DEVICE

Running Windows XP.
User avatar
MindFlayer
Developer
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Kuopio / Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Post by MindFlayer » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:05 am

Ok, so this indeed happens on computers other than mine... I will put a bug report and start investigating for it.
User avatar
gorzuate
Developer
Posts: 2575
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Hermosa Beach, CA
Contact:

Re: Audio engine fails to initialise

Post by gorzuate » Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:43 am

Ragwortshire wrote:When attempting to start version 0.2.1 I get an error that the audio engine failed to initialise. stderr.txt reads

ERROR:.\src\engine\audio\audio.cpp:hoa_audio::GameAudio::SingletonInitialize:113: failed to open an OpenAL audio device: ALC_INVALID_DEVICE

Running Windows XP.
See if you can open up the command prompt, go to the directory where allacrost is, and run allacrost -i. This will give us some information about your system that allacrost sees.
Image
User avatar
Steu
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Medicine Hat

Post by Steu » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:32 pm

Turns out you probably need to install the OpenAl redistributable (we didn't realize we should have included it.)

http://developer.creative.com/articles/ ... =38&aid=46
User avatar
MindFlayer
Developer
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 5:55 am
Location: Kuopio / Tampere, Finland
Contact:

Post by MindFlayer » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:51 pm

Steu wrote:Turns out you probably need to install the OpenAl redistributable (we didn't realize we should have included it.)

http://developer.creative.com/articles/ ... =38&aid=46
I believe this is a different bug, because I do have the OpenAL redistributable installed but this still happens (but somewhat at random).
Ragwortshire
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:17 am

Post by Ragwortshire » Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:57 pm

After downloading and installing the executable Steu linked to, the game runs ok. Thanks!
Larrxi
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:20 am

Post by Larrxi » Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:24 am

Problem fixed here too by downloading the executable.
Post Reply