screen is mixed up when playing windowed

For those having trouble installing/running the game or to report a bug

Moderator: Staff

madmaurice
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 1:39 am

screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby madmaurice » Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:42 am

when i choose windowed in options->video the game is windowed but my whole screen is mixed up in small parts of ca. 32x32. even windows is mixed up.

After quiting the game this problem stays.the way out is to choose again fullscreen and quit the game then.

when i tried to save a screenshot of this it was clear like it never happened Oo.

i'm looking for my camera tomorrow to take photos of my screen to upload them here.
User avatar
Steu
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 10:41 pm
Location: Medicine Hat
Contact:

Postby Steu » Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:16 pm

That sounds really strange, a picture would definately help me to see what's going on.
User avatar
Martijn
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Martijn » Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:51 pm

Hello, I took the liberty to post a picture since I've got the same problem on Windows... (Works perfect on linux though)

[See edit below]

I'm using an ATI X800 XT.
Please let me know if you need any other information.

Edit: Removed the image, because the problem has been pinpointed.
Last edited by Martijn on Sat Jul 26, 2008 12:38 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Roots
Dictator
Posts: 8664
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: Austin TX
Contact:

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Roots » Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:28 am

Wow, that is really messed up. :twitch: I don't even know where to begin debugging that (and I can't, since I don't use Windows).


Oh and I deleted that user account for you as well.
Image
User avatar
Martijn
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Martijn » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:18 am

Roots wrote:(and I can't, since I don't use Windows).


And right you are. I'll probably make an attempt at debugging it when I get home today, I'll let you know what I find.

EDIT: No time to do so yet, will check when I got time.. :]
Winter Knight
Contributor
Posts: 304
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Winter Knight » Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:06 pm

What version of allacrost are you using? Latest stable or latest svn?
User avatar
Martijn
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Martijn » Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:35 pm

Latest stable, since I can't get Allacrost to compile on Windows... But I haven't been really trying to fix that due to lack of time, soon perhaps!

Oh and I posted something earlier which I deleted, the bug only occurs while switching from full screen to windowed mode in game. I thought it happened because the previous setup surface isn't freed, but that seems to be working perfectly without freeing it in the current version of SDL.

If I could just get it compiled I could try some stuff.
User avatar
Martijn
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Martijn » Thu May 08, 2008 10:23 pm

Just noticed the same thing happened with Doom 3 when starting up, the problem is probably driver related. I already found it strange how the screen shot did look normal.
User avatar
ElonNarai
Developer
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby ElonNarai » Fri May 09, 2008 12:03 pm

Yeah, this is most likely driver related and is likely triggered when you start graphic accelerated mode.

If you think you have the correct driver then try the following: Try to run "dxdiag", it's for directX but it should trigger the same issue. If it doesn't trigger, try to reduce your hardware acceleration (Configuration->Display properties->Tab Settings->Press Advanced->Troubleshoot) and then try again. Do it steps since the game might require the advanced (which are hardware accelerated) instructions.

If you have problems compiling on windows there is a huge tutorial on the forum which goes through it step by step.
Documenter and coder
Image
User avatar
ElonNarai
Developer
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby ElonNarai » Fri May 09, 2008 12:05 pm

Oh what I suspect that happend is that in the 3D acceleration mode there is a change in the pitch of your video resolution which messes up your screen.
Documenter and coder
Image
User avatar
Martijn
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 11:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: screen is mixed up when playing windowed

Postby Martijn » Fri May 09, 2008 2:18 pm

Yeah, you're right. Disabling all advanced drawing acceleration got rid of the mess when switching. Though obviously it isn't really playable this way :-]

Return to “Technical Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest